Theft crimes are serious. If you have been charged with one, no matter the degree, you will need an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney on your side. Reach out to our firm today to learn more about how our legal team can best serve you.
How does New Jersey define theft crimes?
The state of New Jersey defines theft of movable property as unlawfully taking or exercising unlawful control of another’s movable property with the intent to deprive the owner. On the other hand, theft of immovable property is defined as illegally assigning any interest in another’s immovable property to serve themselves or another person who isn’t entitled to them. These crimes are serious and can be categorized according to the following:
- Disorderly Persons Offense: This conviction refers to when the property stolen is valued at less than $200. Typically, this may result in up to 6 months in jail and additional fines.
- Fourth Degree Theft: Here, if the stolen property is valued between $200 and $500, this can end with up to 18 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000, or double the amount of the victim’s loss.
- Third Degree Theft: If the stolen property is valued between $500 and $75,000 or it is a firearm, motor vehicle, boat, horse, airplane, or domestic companion animal, it will be considered third-degree theft. This conviction can result in 3-5 years in prison and/or a fine up to $15,000, or double the amount of the victim’s loss.
- Second Degree Theft: In the event that the stolen property is valued at $75,000 or more; theft by extortion; or, theft of 1 kilogram or more of a controlled substance, the consequences will be severe. They will likely be 5 to 10 years in prison and/or a fine up to $150,000, or double the amount of the victim’s loss.
Is robbery considered a theft crime?
Robbery is considered a theft crime in the state of New Jersey and is defined as theft that involves violence, force, or threat of force. It is important to recognize that there are different degrees of robbery. Most offenses are recognized second-degree offenses. But, it can be increased to the first degree if the offender attempts to kill another person, inflicts bodily injury, commits or threatens to commit a crime, or is armed with, uses, or threatens the use of a weapon. The penalties of a robbery conviction in New Jersey include:
- Robbery in the Second Degree: 5 to 10 years in prison as well as a $150,000 fine.
- Robbery in the First Degree: 10 to 20 years in jail.
Additionally, New Jersey has a No Early Release Act, which means that all robbery offenders are expected to serve 85% of their sentence before they become eligible for parole. If you have further questions, do not hesitate to reach out to our skilled criminal defense attorneys today.
Contact our Firm
If you are facing criminal charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.