Bergen County DUI Attorneys

Bergen County DUI Attorney

DUI Attorneys in Glen Rock, New Jersey

If you have been charged with a DUI in New Jersey, you must contact a New Jersey DUI lawyer with decades of experience defending people just like you. New Jersey DUI lawyer Carl Spector is a former New Jersey Municipal Prosecutor with over 30 years of experience handling DUI cases in New Jersey. A conviction of this nature can result in very serious consequences, such as jail time, fines, and a loss of driving privileges. If you are facing DUI charges, you can count on the legal team at The Law Office of Carl Spector to effectively represent your interests and fight to protect your future. To discuss your situation with a legal team you can count on, contact The Law Office of Carl Spector today.

First Offense DUI

The state of New Jersey takes driving under the influence very seriously. Anyone who has a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher can face a DUI charge. Of course, the higher the blood alcohol content, the greater the penalties can be. If you have been arrested for a first-offense DUI with a blood alcohol content of 0.08-0.10 percent, you may face the following consequences:

  • A fine between $250 and $400
  • A $125 DWI surcharge
  • A $100 DDEF surcharge
  • Up to $33 in court costs
  • $75 for SNSF
  • $50 for VCCO
  • Between 12 and 48 hours in the IDRC
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Loss of driver’s license until an ignition interlock has been installed
  • Installation of an ignition interlock for 3 months

It is important to note that if your BAC is 0.10 percent or higher, the penalties you face may be more serious. A person with a BAC between 0.10% and 0.15% may face the following consequences if charged with a first offense DUI:

  • A fine between $300 and $500
  • A $125 DWI Surcharge
  • A $100 DDEF Surcharge
  • Up to $33 in court costs
  • $75 to the SNSF
  • $50 to the VCCO
  • 12 to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Loss of driver’s license until ignition interlock is installed
  • Ignition interlock device installation for 7 months to 1 year

Individuals with a BAC of 0.15% or higher are subject to the same penalties stated above, but they face a 4-6 month loss of license and an ignition interlock device during the period of license forfeiture as well as 9-15 months after the license is restored.

Second Offense DUI

When someone is arrested for a DUI with a previous DUI conviction on their criminal record, they will usually face even harsher penalties. The penalties for a second offense DUI in the state of New Jersey may include the following:

  • Between 2 and 90 days of incarceration
  • Driver’s license suspension for 1 to 2 years
  • A fine between $500 and $1,000
  • A $125 surcharge
  • Up to 48 hours in New Jersey’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • Ignition Interlock Device requirement during the driver’s license suspension and for 2-4 years after restoring driving privileges

Third Offense DUI

A third or subsequent DUI charge is a very serious offense that is accompanied by the greatest penalties one can face for driving while intoxicated in New Jersey. The penalties for a third or subsequent DUI offense in the state of New Jersey include the following:

  • A maximum of 6 months in jail
  • Driver’s license suspension for 8 years
  • A $1,000 fine
  • A $125 DWI surcharge
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in accordance with treatment classification
  • $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund
  • $50 to the VCCO
  • Mandatory installation and use of the Ignition Interlock Device during license forfeiture and for 2 to 4 years after the license has been restored

Underage DUI Offenses in New Jersey

There are very serious consequences for all those charged with driving under the influence while under the age of 21 years old. Because they are not of legal age to purchase, possess, or consume alcohol, these people can be charged with a DUI for a BAC 0.01 percent or greater. The penalties of an underage DUI in New Jersey include the following:

  • A driver’s license suspension between 30 and 90 days
  • 15 to 30 days of community service
  • Completion of alcohol education programs at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Various fees and fines

Penalties of Chemical Test Refusal

When law enforcement stops a driver for suspicion of DUI, they will issue a chemical test that aims to determine their blood alcohol content. It is important to note that in New Jersey, there is a 20-minute rule, which states that law enforcement is required to observe the suspected DUI offender for a minimum of 20 minutes before they are permitted to take a chemical breath test. During the observation, the officer will look for any signs of regurgitation because this may have an impact on the recorded blood alcohol content. If you refuse to take a chemical breath test, or breathalyzer, in New Jersey, you can face additional consequences. These can include the following:

  • Fines between $300 and $500
  • $100 for DDEF
  • A driver’s license suspension until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • 12 to 48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Mandatory use and installation of the Ignition Interlock Device between 9 and 15 months

For a second offense, you may lose your license for up to 2 years, and for a third offense, you risk losing your license for up to 8 years. For both second and third offenses, you may have to use an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for up to 4 years following the restoration of your license.

Possible DUI Defenses

At The Law Office of Carl Spector, there are a number of different defenses that we can explore when working on your case. Some of the ways our firm can challenge your DUI include the following:

  • The initial traffic stop was conducted illegally by the law enforcement officer
  • Failure to abide by the 20-minute rule
  • Issues with field sobriety tests, including that the officer failed to read all of the instructions, the officer did not demonstrate the test, the officer failed to inform you that you can remove your high heels, and that you had health issues that inhibit your ability to successfully take the field sobriety test.

Contact a Bergen County DUI Defense Attorney

If you have been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol in New Jersey, you must retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney who can effectively fight on your behalf. The Law Office of Carl Spector has proudly represented clients throughout the state for over 30 years. Contact our office today to learn how we can assist you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  • Read this blog for more information regarding DWI charges in New Jersey and what to do if you are pulled over for drunk driving. 
  • Read this blog to learn about how theft might be upgraded to robbery in NJ. If you or a loved one is facing a criminal charge, contact an attorney. 
  • Read this blog to find out more about the legalization of marijuana in New Jersey. Reach out to a criminal defense attorney with questions.