Reckless Driving Attorney in Glen Rock, NJ
New Jersey courts seek to hold all those accountable who violate the state’s traffic laws. When operating a motor vehicle in a dangerous manner, a driver not only puts themselves at risk, they put the safety of everyone else around them at risk as well. If you have been issued a ticket for reckless driving in New Jersey, you must speak with an experienced traffic violations attorney who can effectively represent your interests. The Law Office of Carl Spector has the skill and experience it takes to protect you from an uncertain future. To discuss your situation with a skilled legal team, contact The Law Office of Carl Spector today.
What is Reckless Driving?
An individual may receive a reckless driving ticket for various reasons. These can include driving more than 30 miles per hour over the speed limit, driving while intoxicated, or damaging property with a vehicle. Reckless driving in New Jersey is defined as operating “a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person’s property,” according to N.J.S.A. 39:4-96. Although there are often reckless driving cases that result in the destruction of property or injury to another person, this is not necessary for a reckless driving case.
Consequences of Reckless Driving in New Jersey
In New Jersey, if you are convicted of reckless driving, you will face very serious penalties. Law enforcement aims to keep any dangerous drivers off the roads and punish those who continue to drive recklessly. The consequences of a reckless driving offense in New Jersey are as follows:
- A first reckless driving offense is punishable by up to 60 days of imprisonment and/or a fine of $50-$200, as well as 5 points on your driving record
- A second or subsequent reckless driving offense is punishable by up to 3 months of imprisonment and/or a fine between $100 and $500, as well as 5 points on your driving record
- You should note that if you accumulate at least 6 points on your driving record within 3 years, you may face increased insurance premiums and surcharges. Anyone who has accumulated 12 or more points can lose their driver’s license.
Other Variations of Reckless Driving in NJ
There are certain variations of reckless driving in New Jersey. For example, careless driving, a lesser offense, occurs when someone operates a motor vehicle “without due caution and circumspection, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property,” as stated in N.J.S.A. 39:4-95.
Contact a Bergen County Traffic Violations Attorney
Were you issued a reckless driving ticket in New Jersey? If so, you need strong legal representation from an experienced traffic violations attorney who can effectively protect your future. The Law Office of Carl Spector can provide you the effective representation you need to avoid serious repercussions. To discuss your situation with a legal team you can count on, contact The Law Office of Carl Spector today.