What Are the Consequences of a Thanksgiving DWI in New Jersey?

What Are the Consequences of a Thanksgiving DWI in New Jersey?

Thanksgiving weekend is known to be a time of food and drinking with family and friends. Do not make the mistake of getting behind the wheel while under the influence of alcohol. If you get charged with a DWI, you will need an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney from the Law Office of Carl Spector on your side.

What will happen if I receive a DWI Thanksgiving weekend in New Jersey?

DWI charges in New Jersey are taken very seriously, even if it is your first offense. If you were caught by law enforcement for the first time this Thanksgiving weekend with a blood alcohol concentration of .08-.09%, you may face the following penalties:

  • Up to 30 days of imprisonment
  • A $250-$400 fine
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for three months

If you were pulled over with a blood alcohol concentration between .10-.15%, you will face even harsher penalties, including:

  • Up to 30 days of imprisonment
  • A $300-$500 fine
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Between 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for between 7 months and 1 year

What are the consequences of a second-offense DWI?

If this is your second offense, you will likely face harsher consequences that may include:

  • A $500-$1,000 fine
  • Two to 90 days of imprisonment
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • License forfeiture for one to two years
  • A DWI surcharge of $125
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 30 days of community service
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in accordance with treatment classification (usually 48 hours)
  • The installation and use of the ignition interlock device duration of your license suspension and two to four years after the license is restored
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $100 to AERF

What are the penalties after a third DWI offense?

If this is the third time you have been charged with a DWI, you will need to retain the services of a skilled criminal defense attorney, otherwise, you risk facing:

  • An 8-year license forfeiture
  • $1,000 fine
  • Six months in jail
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in accordance with treatment classification
  • $100 to AERF
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 90 days of community service
  • $50 to VCCO
  • Ignition Interlock Device during license suspension and for two to four years after the license is restored

Contact our Firm

If you are facing criminal charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts