What Will Happen if I Get a Labor Day DWI in New Jersey?

What Will Happen if I Get a Labor Day DWI in New Jersey?

While Labor Day is commonly known for relaxing and drinking with friends and family, unfortunately, it is also known for DWIs. If you were charged with a DWI this Labor Day, it is in your best interest to reach out to one of our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorneys to prepare a strategy to fight your criminal charges. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector today to get started.

What will happen if I get a DWI in New Jersey?

New Jersey takes DWIs very seriously, even if it is your first offense. If this is your first DWI offense, with a blood alcohol concentration of .08-.09%, you may face the following consequences:

  • License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • Up to 30 days of imprisonment
  • A $250-$400 fine
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for three months

If you were charged with a DWI and you had a blood alcohol concentration between .10-.15% when you were pulled over, you will face even harsher penalties, including:

  • License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • Up to 30 days of imprisonment
  • A $300-$500 fine
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Between 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for between 7 months and 1 year

What are the consequences for a second offense DWI in New Jersey?

If you have been charged with a second offense DWI, you will face the following:

  • License forfeiture for one to two years
  • A $500-$1,000 fine
  • Two to 90 days of imprisonment
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A DWI surcharge of $125
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 30 days of community service
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in accordance with treatment classification (usually 48 hours)
  • The installation and use of the ignition interlock device duration of your license suspension and two to four years after the license is restored
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $100 to AERF

Will I go to jail for a third or subsequent DWI charge in New Jersey?

If you have accumulated a third or subsequence DWI charge, it is crucial that you retain the services of an experienced personal injury attorney. If not, you may risk the following consequences:

  • An 8-year license forfeiture
  • $1,000 fine
  • Six months in jail
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in accordance with treatment classification
  • $100 to AERF
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 90 days of community service
  • $50 to VCCO
  • Ignition Interlock Device during license suspension and for two to four years after the license is restored

Contact our Firm

If you are facing criminal charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts