How are Theft Charges Upgraded to Robbery in New Jersey?

How are Theft Charges Upgraded to Robbery in New Jersey?

Most people are unaware of the differences between theft, robbery, larceny, and burglary. While they may seem interchangeable, they are actually all different crimes and they carry vastly different charges. To learn more about theft and how it can be upgraded to robbery, read on.

What are the Consequences of Theft in New Jersey?

Theft occurs when property is stolen. Theft charges depend on the value that has been stolen. So, the higher the value, the more severe the penalty. The penalties for theft in New Jersey include:

Disorderly persons offenses: the amount stolen is valued at less than $200.

Fourth-degree theft: the amount stolen is valued between $200-500. If convicted of fourth-degree theft, you can spend up to 18 months in jail.

Third-degree theft: the amount stolen is valued between $500 and $75,000. This may also apply to the theft of a firearm, vehicle, controlled substance of less than a kilogram, or a blank prescription pad, among other things. If convicted of third-degree theft, you may face up to 5 years in jail.

Second-degree theft: These charges are reserved for property valued greater than $75,000, extortion, theft of a controlled substance greater than a kilogram, or human remains and can result in up to 10 years in jail.

What are the Consequences of Robbery?

Theft can become upgraded to robbery a few ways. For example, if you steal from someone and you use a weapon, you will be charged with armed robbery, which carries a much higher charge than theft. The charges can become even higher, for example, if the weapon you use was stolen. Below are the different robbery charges in NJ:

  • Second-degree robbery: this is considered to be a violent crime and an offender may face 5-10 years in jail.
  • First-degree robbery: this occurs when the individual committing the theft attempts to kill or seriously harm another person, commits or threatens to commit any crime in the first or second-degree, or is armed with a weapon, uses a weapon, or threatens to use a weapon. This can result in 10-20 years in prison.

If you or a loved one is facing a theft or robbery charge, contact us today.

Contact our Firm

If you are charged with upgraded domestic violence charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense that understands how to deal with these serious situations. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey domestic violence lawyer that will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  • Read this blog for more information regarding DWI charges in New Jersey and what to do if you are pulled over for drunk driving. 
  • Read this blog to learn about how theft might be upgraded to robbery in NJ. If you or a loved one is facing a criminal charge, contact an attorney. 
  • Read this blog to find out more about the legalization of marijuana in New Jersey. Reach out to a criminal defense attorney with questions.