Thanksgiving Eve DWIs in New Jersey | What to Know

Thanksgiving Eve DWIs in New Jersey | What to Know

You may expect New Year’s Eve to be the worst night when it comes to drunk driving. After all, many people ring in the New Year will a few drinks. Surprisingly, the night of the year that sees the most DWI charges is not even a holiday. Instead, it is the night before Thanksgiving. While the night before Thanksgiving is mostly used to prepare for the next day’s festivities, it has become something of a holiday in its own right. Thanksgiving Eve has been nicknamed “Drinksgiving” and “Blackout Wednesday.” This is because young adults who have been away at college come home for the first time in months and reunite with their hometown friends, filling up bars and clubs to celebrate. Unfortunately, many of these party-goers choose to drive home after their night of drinking. For more information regarding DWI charges in Bergen County, continue reading.

DWI First Offense Penalties:

It is important to note that DWI charges depend upon your blood alcohol content (BAC) and your prior offenses. If it is your first offense, there are two tiers in which you can fall into. If you are pulled over with a BAC of .08%-.09%, you may face the following penalties:

  • A fine between $250 and $400
  • A $125 DWI surcharge
  • A $100 DDEF surcharge
  • $75 for SNSF
  • $50 for VCCO
  • Between 12 and 48 hours in the IDRC
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Loss of driver’s license until an ignition interlock has been installed
  • Installation of an ignition interlock for 3 months

The higher your BAC, the more serious your charges will be. If you are pulled over with a BAC of .10% or higher, you will face the following:

  • A fine between $300 and $500
  • A $125 DWI Surcharge
  • A $100 DDEF Surcharge
  • $75 to the SNSF
  • $50 to the VCCO
  • 12 to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Loss of driver’s license until ignition interlock is installed
  • Ignition interlock device installation for 7 months to 1 year

If you or a loved one is charged with a DWI this Thanksgiving, you will need the help of a skilled criminal defense attorney. Contact us today to discuss your case.

Contact our Firm

If you are charged with upgraded domestic violence charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense that understands how to deal with these serious situations. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey domestic violence lawyer that will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  • Read this blog and contact an experienced criminal defense attorney for more information regarding DWI charges in New Jersey. 
  • Read this blog and contact an experienced criminal defense attorney for more information regarding domestic violence charges in New Jersey. 
  • Read this blog and contact an experienced criminal defense attorney for more information regarding hardship licenses in New Jersey.