What to Know About Drug DWIs in New Jersey

What to Know About Drug DWIs in New Jersey

Driving while high is a common issue, but it is not discussed very often. It is important to understand what constitutes drugged driving and the associated penalties. Read on to learn more about drugged driving in New York.

What is Drugged Driving?

If you drive while impaired, you may receive a drug DWI. While many people assume this applies to driving while under the influence of marijuana or other drugs, certain prescription medications can result in impairment as well. Like drunk driving, drugged driving is incredibly dangerous and puts you, your passengers, other drivers, and pedestrians at risk. As a result, this charge is taken very seriously.

What are the Penalties of Drugged Driving?

When a driver violates the law by driving under the influence of drugs, he or she may face the following penalties:

  • First offense: A fine between $300 and $500, a period of detainment for 12-48 hours during two consecutive days of no less than six hours each day, a term of imprisonment for no more than 30 days, and the forfeiture of their rights to operate a vehicle on highways in New Jersey for seven months to one year.
  • Second offense: A fine between $500 and $1000, community service for a period of 30 days, imprisonment between 48 hours and 90 days, and the forfeiture of their rights to operate a motor vehicle on highways in New Jersey for two years.
  • Third or subsequent offense: A fine of $1000, imprisonment for a minimum of 180 days in county jail or a workhouse and maximum of 90 days, participation in a drug/alcohol inpatient rehab program approved by the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, the forfeiture of their rights to operate a vehicle on the highways in New Jersey for 10 years, and the installation of an ignition interlock device.

What if I Am Charged with Drugged Driving?

If you are charged with drugged driving, you will want to reach out to a skilled criminal defense attorney. An attorney will work to reduce or remove your charges by exploring all possible avenues of defense. Contact our blog to speak with a dedicated attorney about your case today.

Contact our Firm

If you are charged with upgraded domestic violence charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense that understands how to deal with these serious situations. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey domestic violence lawyer that will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  • Read this blog and contact a skilled criminal defense attorney for more information regarding gun crimes in New Jersey and what to do if charged. 
  • Read this blog and contact a skilled criminal defense attorney for more information regarding drugged driving in New Jersey. 
  • Read this blog and contact a skilled criminal defense attorney for more information regarding the difference between burglary and robbery charges.