What to Know About Counterfeit Crimes in New Jersey

Read on to learn more about counterfeit crimes in New Jersey and the legal consequences if you have been charged. Our skilled Bergen County criminal defense attorney is on your side. Our legal team is on your side no matter what you are facing.

What are counterfeit crimes in New Jersey?

Counterfeiting concerns the intent to deceive by manufacturing, using, displaying, advertising, distributing, offering for sale, selling, or possessing with the plan to sell for money a counterfeit item or service that has a counterfeit mark within New Jersey.

Counterfeiting is often mistaken for forgery. Forgery charges generally apply to false documents used to defraud, such as bad checks, false identification cards (e.g., driver’s license or birth certificate), or illegitimate contracts. Counterfeiting charges in New Jersey can be applied to the manufacture, possession, and distribution of fake currency or a variety of other phony trademarks and products, such as name-brand clothing and accessories, pharmaceuticals, or personal electronics. Counterfeiting is mainly referred to as a federal crime. However, New Jersey courts will prosecute counterfeiting charges under state law, too. Give our firm a call today to learn more about this charge.

What are the penalties for counterfeiting?

Penalties for counterfeiting in New Jersey are founded on the number of counterfeit items the defendant possessed, their retail value (if authentic), and previous charges of counterfeiting against the defendant. For a charge to be filed, the defendant must possess or have control of at least 25 items that are allegedly counterfeit.

A first counterfeiting offense involving fewer than 100 items and a total retail value of less than $1,000 is a fourth-degree offense punishable by up to 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

A second counterfeiting offense or an offense involving 100 or more items but fewer than 1,000 and a total retail value of $1,000 to less than $15,000 is a third-degree offense punishable by 3 to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000.

A third or subsequent counterfeiting offense or an offense involving 1,000 items or more and a total retail value of $15,000 or more is a second-degree offense punishable by 5 to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $150,000.

Contact our Firm

If you are facing criminal charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts