The penalties a commercial vehicle driver may face after receiving a DWI in New Jersey are not the same as a standard DWI charge. To learn more, continue reading and reach out to our experienced Bergen County DUI attorneys.
How does New Jersey define a commercial vehicle in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, there are a number of different qualifications a vehicle must meet for it to be deemed a commercial vehicle. If a person operates any of the following vehicles, they will be qualified to obtain a commercial license:
- A truck with a tank
- A truck with double or triple trailers
- A truck carrying hazardous materials
- A passenger vehicle
What are the consequences of a commercial DWI in New Jersey?
You will want to recognize that in New Jersey, commercial DWI offenses, the penalties are harsh. If this is your first offense and you were caught by law enforcement with a blood alcohol concentration of .04% or higher, you will likely face the following penalties:
- A 1-year CDL license suspension
- A 3-month suspension of your driver’s license
- Up to 48 hours at the intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
- Up to 30 days in jail
- Up to $400 in fines
If you are pulled over by law enforcement with a blood alcohol concentration of .10% or higher, you will face even more extreme penalties. In the event that this is your second offense, you can forfeit your license, which can have a damaging effect on those who operate a commercial vehicle for their job. If you have been charged, do not wait to reach out to our firm today. Our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorneys have the knowledge and experience needed to combat your charges.
What are the differences between a commercial DWI and a regular DWI in New Jersey?
Commercial vehicle drivers will face more severe penalties because they are held to a higher standard of care. This is because individuals with a regular driver’s license can face DWI charges if they are pulled over with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher. Meanwhile, if an individual is driving a commercial vehicle, he or she can be charged with a DWI if their blood alcohol concentration is .04% or higher. Do not wait to reach out to our Bergen County criminal defense attorney today to learn more about your options if you were charged with a DWI in New Jersey.
Contact our Firm
If you are facing criminal charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.