When residents of the state of New Jersey want to obtain a gun, they are required by law to have a permit. This can be received after a thorough legal process is conducted. While considering their application, residents may wonder if they need the help of an attorney to do so. Continue reading below to learn more.
Do I Need an Attorney to File a Gun Permit Application?
It is important to know that most people do not need the help of an attorney to file for a gun permit and are able to do so on their own. These individuals are required to meet certain criteria to apply. Individuals who do not, on the other hand, may need an attorney. This can include individuals who fall under the following categories:
- Any person who has been convicted of a crime or a disorderly persons offense involving an act of domestic violence whether or not they were armed or possessing a weapon at the time of the offense
- Any drug dependent person, any person who is confined for a mental disorder at a hospital, mental institution, or sanitarium, or any person who is a habitual drunkard
- Any person who suffers from a physical defect or disease which would make it unsafe for them to handle a firearm, any person who has ever been confined for a mental disorder, an alcoholic, or a person who knowingly falsifies information on their application or firearms purchaser identification card
- Any person under the age of 18 years for a firearms purchaser identification card and any person under the age of 21 years for a permit to purchase a handgun
- Any person who is subject to a restraining order issued pursuant to the “Prevention of Domestic Violence Act of 1991,” prohibiting them from possessing a firearm
- Any person who, as a juvenile, was adjudicated for an offense which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a crime and the offense involved the unlawful use of possession of a weapon, explosive, or destructive device
- To any person whose firearm is seized pursuant to the “prevention of Domestic Violence Act of 1991,” and whose firearm has not been returned
- To any person named on the consolidated Terrorist WATchlist maintained by the Terrorist Screening Center administered by the FBI
- To any person who is subject to a court order prohibiting the custody, control, ownership, purchase, possession, or receipt of a firearm or ammunition issued pursuant to the “Extreme Risk Protective Order Act of 2018”
People who fall into any of these categories should not submit an application before speaking with an attorney to clear the issue beforehand. Otherwise, their applications can be denied.
How Do I Apply for a Permit?
In New Jersey, residents can file for two types of firearm purchasing permits. This includes the Handgun Purchase Permit (HPP) and a Firearm Purchaser Identification Card (FPID). A HPP allows the individual to purchase handguns. The FPID allows the individual to purchase a rifle, long gun, or shotgun.
Contact our Firm
If you are charged with upgraded domestic violence charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense that understands how to deal with these serious situations. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey domestic violence lawyer that will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.