Will I Get Points on My License for Running a Red Light in NJ?

Perhaps you’re in a rush and come across a yellow traffic signal, believing you have enough time to make it through. However, as you approach the intersection or cross it, the light suddenly turns red. Before you know it, a law enforcement agent is issuing you a traffic ticket for failure to observe a traffic signal and stop at a traffic light. The penalties for running a red light are severe and could cost you a great deal. As such, it’s crucial to be aware of the consequences and consult a determined Bergen County Traffic Violations Attorney who can help fight the ticket. Please continue reading to learn how many points will be assigned to your driving record for running a red light. 

What Are Demerit Points for Traffic Violations?

For numerous traffic offenses, in addition to fines and other penalties, you will also receive points on your permanent driving record. Like other states, New Jersey’s Motor Vehicle Commission maintains a traffic ticket point system in which a point value is assigned to different traffic violations, with more severe offenses carrying a higher point value. For instance, violations like driving under the influence (DUI) and leaving the scene of an accident assign higher points than a seat belt citation or speeding ticket.

When an officer issues you a traffic ticket, points are added to your driver’s license and become part of your driving record. Once you accumulate a certain number of points, your driver’s license can be suspended, or you may be required to pay a surcharge on your auto insurance. The number of points assigned depends on the specific traffic violation. If you accumulate six or more points within three years, your auto insurance premiums will increase. If you accumulate 12 or more points in three years, your driver’s license will be suspended.

How Many Points Will I Get for Running a Red Light in NJ?

Like most moving violations, if you are convicted of or plead guilty to Failure to Stop for Traffic Light, the court can fine you anywhere from $50 to $200. It’s important to note that the fine can be doubled if the violation occurred in a construction zone or a “Safe Corridor.” Additionally, the court has the discretion to imprison offenders up to 15 days in jail. This is usually imposed when there are aggravating circumstances. The Motor Vehicle Commission will also add two points to your driving record. To receive a reduced penalty and avoid points being assigned to your driving record, you must plead to the “no-point ticket” for Unsafe Operation.

If you have received a ticket for running a red light in New Jersey, it’s in your best interest to hire an experienced who can help protect your driving record.