What if I am Pulled Over Without a License in New Jersey?

What if I am Pulled Over Without a License in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, it is illegal to drive without a driver’s license. There are two types of unlicensed driving, and they both carry vastly different penalties. Read on to learn more about driving without a license in New Jersey, the potential penalties, and what to do if you are pulled over without your license.

License Not in Possession

Accidents happen. Maybe you left the house in a rush and forgot to grab your wallet, therefore leaving your license behind. If you have a valid driver’s license, but your license on your person and you are pulled over, you may face a small fine. Driving with a suspended license is a very different situation.

Driving With a Suspended License

If you drive knowing that your license is suspended, or you should reasonably be aware that your license was suspended, this is a serious offense. There was likely a serious reason that caused your license suspension, and you are ignoring court orders. If you are pulled over driving with a suspended or revoked license, you may face the following penalties:

  • First-time offenses are punishable by a $500 fine, as well as a license suspension for up to 6 months.
  • Those facing a second offense can be charged a $750 fine, an extended license suspension up to 6 additional months, and possible jail time of up to 5 days.
  • Third or subsequent offenders may face a $1,000 fine, an additional license suspension up to 6 months, and possible jail time of up to 10 days.

New Jersey’s New Exception

At the moment, teenagers in New Jersey who passed their road test will not have to get a driver’s license. Instead, they will be able to use a validated learner’s permit as a temporary license. This was done to avoid long lines and crowds at the MVC during COVID-19.

If you or a loved one is found to be driving without a license, you should reach out to a skilled traffic violation attorney. An attorney can help to lower your fines and explore all of your possible options.

Contact our Firm

If you are charged with upgraded domestic violence charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense that understands how to deal with these serious situations. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey domestic violence lawyer that will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  • Read this blog and contact a skilled criminal defense attorney to discuss your options regarding drug court in New Jersey. 
  • Read this blog and contact a skilled criminal defense attorney for more informationr regarding probation violations in New Jersey. 
  • Read this blog and contact a criminal defense attorney for more information regarding underage DWI charges in New Jersey and what to do if charged.