What happens if I’m caught texting while driving in New Jersey?

Using your cell phone while driving is both dangerous and illegal. However, this does not stop motorists from glancing at their phones while they are behind the wheel from time to time. Unfortunately, in today’s society, where technology runs the world, everybody is guilty of checking their phones while they drive whether they are texting, scrolling through social media, or dialing someone’s phone number. This reckless driving behavior is dangerous because distracted driving can result in serious accidents and injuries. It is imperative to refrain from texting while operating a vehicle as it will result in significant repercussions. If you have been issued a cell phone violation for texting while driving, contact a qualified Bergen County Cell Phone Violations Attorney who can help you fight the charges being brought against you. 

What are the potential penalties for texting while driving in New Jersey?

The state of New Jersey carries strict penalties for cell phone violations. If you are charged with a cell violation, you could potentially face an array of fines, license suspension, and points on your standard license. These harsh penalties can have long-lasting negative effects on your life. For instance, if you have points on your driving record this could cause your auto insurance rates to increase. In addition, if your license is suspended you may not be able to travel to and from work which affects your ability to earn a living. Ultimately, these serious penalties can haunt you for a long time. This is why it is critical to retain the legal services of a determined Bergen County cell phone violations attorney who can help defend your rights.

In New Jersey, if this is your first offense cell phone violation, you will be facing fines between $200 and $400. If this is your second offense cell phone violation within 10 years of the first offense, you will be looking at fines between $400 and $600. If this is your third or subsequent offense within 10 years, you will be looking at fines between $600 and $800, a potential license suspension of 90 days, and 3 points on your standard license.

Are there any exceptions to New Jersey’s cell phone laws?

In New Jersey, there are some exceptions to cell phone laws. If a driver has any reason to believe that their life is in imminent danger, they may use their cell phone to call the authorities. In addition, if a driver is trying to report a medical emergency, a reckless driver, auto collision, fire, or dangerous road hazard they can legally use their cell phone behind the wheel.

In the unfortunate event that you or a loved one has been issued a cell phone violation, please don’t hesitate to contact one of our skilled and determined attorneys. Our firm is committed to helping our clients understand their rights. Allow our experienced attorneys to represent your interests in court today!