What do I Need to Know About New Jersey’s Marijuana Laws?

What do I Need to Know About New Jersey’s Marijuana Laws?

Many states have moved to legalize the use of marijuana recreationally. However, the drug is still illegal in New Jersey. The state holds strict laws regarding the possession of the drug as well as the distribution of it. To learn more about these laws, continue reading below and reach out to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney if you were charged with a drug crime. 

What are the Consequences of Possession?

In New Jersey, it is illegal to be in possession of marijuana unless you have an identification for certified medicinal use. The consequences of illegal possession can vary depending on the amount of the drug:

  • The possession of 50 grams or less is a “Disorderly Person” offense. This can result in a maximum of 6 months imprisonment in addition to mandatory fines and penalties;
  • The possession of more than 50 grams is considered a 4th-degree felony. This can result in a maximum of 18 months imprisonment, a fine of up to $25,000 and mandatory penalties

What are the Consequences of Distribution?

If an offender is not only found in possession of marijuana, but also with the intent to distribute it, this is a separate offense. The consequences of intent to distribute can include the following:

  • Sale or distribution or possession with the intent to distribute less than 1 ounce is a crime in the 4th degree. This can result in a maximum of 18 months imprisonment, a fine of $25,000 and mandatory additional financial penalties;
  • Sale or distribution or possession with intent to distribute 1 ounce to less than 5 pounds is a crime in the 3rd degree. This can result in 3-5 years imprisonment, a fine of $25,000 and mandatory additional financial penalties;
  • Sale or distribution or possession with intent to distribute 5 pounds to less than 25 pounds is a crime in the 2nd degree. This can result in 5-10 years imprisonment, a fine of $150,000 and mandatory additional financial penalties; 
  • Sale or distribution or possession with intent to distribute 25 pounds or more is a crime in the 1st degree. This can result in 10-20 years imprisonment, a fine of $300,000 and mandatory additional financial penalties.

Medical Marijuana

Similar to other states, New Jersey legalized medicinal marijuana. This allows certain individuals to become licensed to purchase marijuana through New Jersey’s Medicinal Marijuana Program. A prescription may be issued for patients dealing with illnesses such as cancer, chronic pain, glaucoma, movement disorders, anxiety, and addiction. The law was passed due to research suggesting marijuana can help those dealing with pain relief, nausea, spasticity, and stimulate appetite. 

Contact our Firm

If you are charged with upgraded domestic violence charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense that understands how to deal with these serious situations. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey domestic violence lawyer that will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts