It is a very serious offense to be charged with drug possession in New Jersey. These convictions can result in lifetime consequences. The exact consequences that a person may face can vary depending on the circumstances surrounding the offense. This can include the type of drug and the amount in their possession. Continue reading below to learn more and contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney for assistance with your case.
Consequences of Marijuana Possession
If you are in possession of under 50 grams of marijuana without a medical license, the penalties can include up to six months in prison and a fine up to $1000. If you are in possession of over 50 grams, it is a felony charge that can result in up to a year and a half in prison and a $25,000 fine. It is important to note that if the crime was within 1000 feet of a school, these penalties can worsen.
Consequences of Cocaine Possession
If you are found with less than half an ounce of cocaine, you may be required to pay a fine between $35,000 and $75,000. It is possible to also face a prison sentence of up to 5 years. Other penalties you may face can include the loss of your driver’s license, enrollment in a mandatory drug education and rehabilitation program, and 100 hours of community service if the possession was within 1000 feet of a school.
Consequences of Heroin Possession
There are different degrees of heroin possession charges in New Jersey. These vary depending on the quantity in possession. Small amounts may result in a third-degree crime, while larger amounts can be first or second-degree. In these cases, you may face a fine up to $35,000 and possibly 5 years in prison. If there was an intent to distribute or you were charged near a school or a park, the consequences can worsen.
Consequences of Illegal Prescription Drugs
If you are in possession of illegal prescription drugs, you can face fines, jail time, and a criminal record. The higher the amount of illegal drugs in your possession, the more significant these consequences can be. Depending on the amount, the panties can vary from up to 18 months in jail to 10 years in jail. You may also face fines from $1,000 to $300,000.
Contact our Firm
If you are charged with upgraded domestic violence charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense that understands how to deal with these serious situations. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey domestic violence lawyer that will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.