In the United States, young adults must wait until they turn 21 years old before they can legally purchase or consume alcohol. New Jersey is Zero Tolerance state when it comes to driving under the influence. This means that those who drink underage and choose to drive are breaking multiple laws. Read on to learn more about DWIs in New Jersey.
What Constitutes an Underage DWI?
DWI charges are dependent upon your blood alcohol content (BAC) and your prior offenses. In New Jersey, if you are over 21 years old and you have a BAC of .08% or above, you will be charged with a DWI. But, if you are underage and you have a BAC of even .01%, you will be charged with a DWI.
What are the Penalties?
As stated above, charges are dependent upon prior offenses. So, with every additional charge, the penalties will increase. If you are charged with an underage DWI for the first time, you will face the following penalties:
- A driver’s license suspension between 30 and 90 days
- 15 to 30 days of community service
- Completion of alcohol education programs at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- Various fees and fines
What are Possible Defenses?
At The Law Office of Carl Spector, there are a number of different defenses that we can explore when working on your case. Some of the ways our firm can challenge your DWI include the following:
- The initial traffic stop was conducted illegally by the law enforcement officer
- Failure to abide by the 20-minute rule
- Issues with field sobriety tests, including that the officer failed to read all of the instructions, the officer did not demonstrate the test, the officer failed to inform you that you can remove your high heels, and that you had health issues that inhibit your ability to successfully take the field sobriety test.
If you or a loved one has been charged with an underage DWI, contact our firm to speak with a dedicated criminal defense attorney. We understand that people make mistakes and we are here to fight your charges and reduce your penalties.
Contact our Firm
If you are charged with upgraded domestic violence charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense that understands how to deal with these serious situations. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey domestic violence lawyer that will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.