If you were charged with robbery in New Jersey, you will need to retain the services of an experienced Bergen County criminal defense attorney today. Our legal team is committed to ensuring you and your future are protected.
How does the state of New Jersey define robbery?
The state of New Jersey states that robbery is a theft that involves violence, force, or threat of force. Keep in mind that there are several different degrees of robbery recognized in New Jersey. Most offenses are deemed second-degree offenses. However, it can be boosted to the first degree if the offender tries to kill another person, inflicts bodily injury, commits or threatens to commit a crime, or is armed with, uses, or threatens the use of a weapon. To learn more, reach out to our firm today. We are here to help you no matter what you are facing.
What are the consequences of a robbery charge?
In New Jersey, robbery charges are not taken lightly. The penalties will likely include:
- Robbery in the Second Degree: 5 to 10 years in prison as well as a $150,000 fine.
- Robbery in the First Degree: 10 to 20 years in jail.
If you are facing burglary or robbery charges, contact our firm to speak with a skilled criminal defense attorney.
Can a theft charge be upgraded to a robbery charge?
Theft can become upgraded to robbery in a few ways. For example, if you steal from someone and you use a weapon, you will be charged with armed robbery, which holds a much higher charge than theft. In New Jersey, theft occurs when property is stolen. Theft charges depend on the value that has been stolen. This means that the higher the value, the more severe the penalty. The penalties for theft in New Jersey include the following:
- Disorderly person offenses: the amount stolen is valued at less than $200.
- Fourth-degree theft: the amount stolen is valued between $200-500. If convicted of fourth-degree theft, you can spend up to 18 months in jail.
- Third-degree theft: the amount stolen is valued between $500 and $75,000. This may also involve the theft of a firearm, vehicle, a controlled substance of less than a kilogram, or a blank prescription pad, among other things. If convicted of third-degree theft, you may face up to 5 years in jail.
- Second-degree theft: These charges are reserved for property valued greater than $75,000, extortion, theft of a controlled substance greater than a kilogram, or human remains and can result in up to 10 years in jail.
Contact our Firm
Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who will aggressively fight for you. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation.