Many clients come to me with questions about DWI conviction costs, and how much they will have to pay if they are convicted of DWI in New Jersey. If you have been charged with DWI in the state of New Jersey and decided to just plead guilty without speaking to a New Jersey DWI Lawyer, you are facing high fines. The court costs for a DWI will be somewhere around $700 as an average, plus a $3,000 surcharge, and the IDRC fee which is $75. New Jersey criminal defense lawyer Carl Spector has estimated that over the course of three years, because of that surcharge, you’ll end up paying somewhere close to between $3,700 and $4,000.
A first time DWI in New Jersey could easily cost $5,000 over the whole life of the problem if you give up and just plead guilty.
If you have been charged with DWI in New Jersey, or have questions about DWI conviction costs, call New Jersey DUI attorney Carl Spector to arrange a free confidential consultation. He has over 30 years of experience defending New Jersey residents against DWI and DUI charges. Let his experience work for you.