As the season changes from summer to fall, plenty of individuals continue to choose walking as their means of transportation. Although walking provides several health benefits, receiving a ticket for crossing or walking on the street outside a designated area is possible, as jaywalking is considered a crime. Like motorists, pedestrians must abide by the rules of the road to ensure their safety and that of others sharing the road. Pedestrians increase their risk of collision when they do not follow traffic laws. As such, New Jersey enforces strict laws against jaywalking. If you have been issued a ticket for jaywalking, contact a trusted Bergen County Traffic Violations Attorney who can help you understand your legal options. Please continue reading to learn about the potential penalties for jaywalking in New Jersey.
What is jaywalking in New Jersey?
Jaywalking refers to the unlawful action of pedestrians crossing or walking in the street outside designated areas without regard for oncoming traffic. Essentially, it occurs when an individual illegally crosses the road. Crosswalks in New Jersey are intended to provide a secure pathway for pedestrians to navigate the roadway safely. Walking within the designated boundaries of a crosswalk is mandatory by law for pedestrians as it reduces the chances of collisions. Under New Jersey law, pedestrians are required to obey pedestrian signals and use crosswalks at designated intersections. If they fail to do so, they will face steep fines.
What are the potential penalties for this crime?
In New Jersey, if you are caught jaywalking, you do not need to be worried about facing jail time as it is considered a minor infraction, which will result in being issued a citation. If a pedestrian fails to follow the rules of the road, such as disobeying a pedestrian traffic signal or not using a crosswalk at a signalized intersection, they may receive a fine of $54 for each offense.
Both pedestrians and motorists must follow the right-of-way rules. Motorists have the right of way whenever pedestrians cross or walk in the street outside of a designated area. If a motorist fails to yield to pedestrians at marked and unmarked crosswalks, they could be issued a fine of $200, community service, and have two points added to their driver’s license.
While jaywalking may not be considered a major offense, it can still lead to a financial penalty. If you feel that you have been wrongly ticketed for jaywalking, it is in your best interest to seek the legal guidance of an experienced Bergen County traffic violations lawyer. Our firm is prepared to advocate to help you achieve the best possible outcome.