Cocaine and other hard drugs are prohibited in all states, with violations often leading to prison time and fines. New Jersey cocaine laws are the most challenging on drug traffickers, with a 25-year minimum mandatory prison sentence (before parole), and those charged with possession have the opportunity to join a treatment program if it’s the first offense. Selling cocaine to a minor or a pregnant woman can result in double penalties.
The New Jersey judicial system has a drug court program that provides treatment and rehabilitation for non-violent drug offenders with no previous criminal record. Specialized drug court judges work with attorneys, probation officers, treatment professionals, and substance abuse evaluators to facilitate recovery and reduce recidivism. Those registered in the program acquire probation instead of prison but must supply regular drug testing and court appearances.
If you have been charged with the sale, trafficking, or possession of cocaine in New Jersey, you should reach out to a criminal defense attorney licensed in the state who has knowledge of drug cases. Your attorney may be able to reduce the sentence, have evidence thrown out, or otherwise supply the most favorable outcome possible. Give our firm a call today to speak with a skilled Bergen County drug possession defense attorney.
What are the penalties of a cocaine charge in New Jersey?
The penalties for the sale of cocaine in New Jersey are serious. They include the following:
- .5 oz. or less: a crime of 3rd degree, $75,000;
- .5 oz. to 5 oz.: a crime of 2nd degree;
- Over 5 oz.: a crime of 1st degree, fixed prison term, and $300,000;
- Selling within 1000 feet of school: fixed prison term and up to $100,000;
- Selling to minor or pregnant female: double penalties
The charge for possession in New Jersey is categorized as a crime of 3rd degree and the penalty may involve a fine of up to $35,000.
When can cocaine charges be dropped in New Jersey?
In some instances, criminal charges can be dropped. These include incorrect filling out of documents by police, improperly acquired or lost evidence, or no probable cause found. Each case is distinctive, with its own specifications, which is why having an attorney on your side will be useful.
Criminal defense attorneys released a thorough investigation of the situation surrounding the drug charges. Under the Constitution, you are shielded against unreasonable searches and seizures. When a cocaine arrest takes place after a traffic stop, the charges may be dropped if the stop was unconstitutional. The same is valid if there was no probable cause for law enforcement to search the vehicle. When evidence is improperly obtained, your lawyer can file a motion to suppress it.
Contact our Firm
Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who will aggressively fight for you. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation.