Can I get my license back early after a suspension in New Jersey?

If you have been convicted of a serious traffic violation, such as driving while under the influence (DUI), or have accumulated multiple traffic violations resulting in twelve or more points on your current driving record, your driving privileges will be suspended. A license suspension means that your driving privileges will be taken away for a period of time. When an individual has their driving privileges suspended, it can disrupt their everyday life as their mobility is significantly reduced. Driving is necessary to get children to school, travel to work, and fulfill family responsibilities. As such, many people wonder whether there are any ways in which they can get their license back early after a suspension. Please continue reading to learn how to reinstate your standard driver’s license after a suspension and how a dedicated Bergen County Traffic Violations Attorney can help you today. 

How do you get your license restored after a suspension in New Jersey?

There are various reasons why someone’s driver’s license may be suspended, and the duration of the suspension will vary depending on the offense. During the suspension period, drivers cannot get behind the wheel until their license has been fully reinstated. It is imperative to note that the driver does not automatically regain their driving privileges when the suspension period ends. They must first complete the necessary steps, including paying the required fees.

How much does it cost to have your license reinstated?

Drivers will have to pay a reinstatement fee to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MCV) which is $100. Drivers must submit proof of payment of outstanding fines or tickets to the MVC to restore their license. After you have completed the suspension period and paid the required fees, you will receive a Notice of Restoration in the mail.

If a driver gets behind the wheel while their license is suspended, it is a serious offense that will result in additional penalties. This includes a minimum of $500 in fines, surcharges, and additional license suspension periods. Ultimately, it is not possible to get your license back early after a suspension. However, you can take steps to get it back once the suspension period is over.

If your license has been suspended due to a serious offense, you need a skilled Bergen County traffic violations attorney. At The Law Office of Carl Spector, we can assist you in fighting to reduce your license suspension. It is crucial to have an experienced lawyer who can guide you through every step of this complex legal process and advocate for you. Our firm is prepared to work tirelessly to defend your rights and interests.