When people are given a driver’s license in the state of New Jersey, they are trusted to follow the rules of the road and operate their vehicles safely. If they fail to do so, they can cause dangerous accidents that have the potential to cause life-changing injuries to those who are involved. It is because of this that law enforcement works hard to combat these issues by imposing penalties on offenders. The consequences of negligent driving can include fines, points on a driving record, surcharges, and even possibly losing a license. Continue reading below and contact an experienced New Jersey traffic violation attorney to learn more.
Individuals who drive over the speed limit in New Jersey can be subject to the state’s point system as a result. This places points on their driving record. The amount of points they receive can vary depending on the speed they were going. The system is as follows:
- 2 points for driving 1-14 miles over the speed limit
- 4 points for driving 15-30 miles over the speed limit
- 5 points for driving 30 miles over the speed limit
Cell Phone Violations
It is illegal for anyone driving a vehicle to use an electronic device while doing so. This can include the use of a cell phone. Individuals who choose to do so anyway can face certain consequences due to the fact that they are putting themselves and others at great risk. This can include a fine ranging between $200 and $800 and three points on their driving record.
The state of New jersey defines reckless driving as “a violation performed by a driver that willfully and wantonly disregards the rights and safety of other drivers in a way that endangers people or property.” This can include actions such as speeding, improper lane changes, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, and more. This can result in fines as well as a possible license suspension.
Driving Without a License
People may choose not to have a driver’s license. Or, it is possible that a person can have their license taken away if they receive certain traffic violations. When a person drives without a license, it can result in a fine between $500 to $1000 as well as possible jail time.
Contact our Firm
If you are charged with upgraded domestic violence charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense that understands how to deal with these serious situations. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey domestic violence lawyer that will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.