What do I Need to Know About DWI Consequences in New Jersey?

What do I Need to Know About DWI Consequences in New Jersey?

The state of New Jersey takes drinking and driving very seriously. It is because of this that individuals who violate the law can be charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI). If convicted, offenders can face serious consequences that have the potential to impact them for the rest of their life. Continue reading below to learn more and contact an experienced New Jersey DWI defense attorney if you are facing these charges.

First Offense Consequences

If a driver has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over the legal limit of 0.08% but under 0.10% for the first time, they can face the following consequences:

  • License suspension until the date of installation of the ignition interlock device, then the interlock device remains on the vehicle for 3 months
  • A $250-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (consecutive days or overnight)
  • Up to 30 days of jail time
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $50 Victims of Crime Compensation Board Penalty
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

If they have a BAC between .10% and .15%, drivers can face a license suspension until installing an interlock device. This must be installed for 7-12 months. If their BAC is more than .15%, they may be subject to suspension for 4-6 months with an ignition interlock device for 9-15 months after restoration.

Second Offense Consequences

It a driver is found with a BAC of .08% or more for a second time, they can face the following consequences: 

  • Up to 90 days of jail time
  • A 1-2 year loss of license
  • Interlock device installation during the term of license suspension 
  • 2-4 years interlock installation after privileges restored
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (overnight)
  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • A $50 Victims of Crime Compensation Board Penalty
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

Third Offense Consequences

If a driver receives their third DWI charge within 10 years of the first one, they can face the following consequences:

  • 180 days of jail time (90 of which can be spent in an inpatient facility)
  • An 8-year loss of license with an interlock installed during the term
  • 2-4 years interlock after privileges are restored
  • IDRC referral
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $50 Victims of Crime Compensation Board Penalty
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services fund fee

Contact our Firm

If you are charged with upgraded domestic violence charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense that understands how to deal with these serious situations. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey domestic violence lawyer that will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts