What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in New Jersey?

What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in New Jersey?

If you were charged with reckless driving in New Jersey, you will likely face long-term serious consequences. Do not hesitate to reach out to the Law Office of Carl Spector to speak with one of our skilled New Jersey criminal defense attorneys. Our firm is committed to protecting you and your future.

What is reckless driving in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, you can get a reckless driving ticket for several different reasons. Reckless driving in New Jersey is described as when someone is driving a vehicle “heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger a person’s property.” For instance, you can receive a ticket for driving 30 miles per hour over the speed limit or driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If you damage another property with your vehicle, you may also be convicted of driving recklessly.

What happens if I am charged with reckless driving in New Jersey?

If you have been charged with reckless driving in New Jersey, you will likely face harsh life-altering consequences. It is also important to understand that the penalties will increase as the amount of additional offenses increases. Those who have been charged with a first offense of reckless driving can expect the following penalties:

  • 5 points on your driving record
  • Imprisonment up to 60 days
  • A fine of up to $200
  • License suspension

If an individual receives a second reckless driving conviction, the consequences will be even more severe. They will typically include:

  • Fines of up to $500
  • Imprisonment up to 90 days
  • License suspension

What will happen if I get points on my driver’s license?

If you receive points on your license, the first thing you can expect is that your insurance premium will rise. This can mean that your reckless driving ticket will result in months or even years of additional expenses. Furthermore, if someone accumulates 6 or more points on their license within three years, they will likely need to pay a $150 fine.

If you have been charged, contact our seasoned criminal defense attorneys to discuss your case and your options. Our firm is committed to helping you combat your charges.

Contact our Firm

If you are facing criminal charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts