It is important to understand the differences between burglary and robbery in the state of New Jersey. If you were charged with either, you will need to retain the services of an experienced Bergen County criminal defense attorney.
What is burglary?
In order to be charged with burglary in New Jersey, you must be found guilty of trespassing. The state of New Jersey defines trespassing as entering a structure or research facility without consent–while either engaging or having the intent to commit a crime within that building. In this context, the word “structure” can insinuate rooms, buildings, ships, tents, airplanes, vehicles, or any other place adapted for sleeping or business. Furthermore, in New Jersey, courts will upgrade your burglary charge to aggravated burglary if you are found guilty of either inflicting or threatening to inflict bodily injury on another person while in the act of committing a burglary. Additionally, you can be charged with aggravated burglary if you are either armed with or appear to be armed with an explosive device or deadly weapon.
You may face the following consequences if you have been charged with burglary in New Jersey:
- Up to 5 years in prison and a $15,000 fine.
- Also, if you are convicted of aggravated burglary, you may face up to 10 years in prison and up to $150,000 in fines.
You will need a skilled criminal defense attorney on your side if you are encountering the penalties of robbery or burglary. Contact our firm today. We are on your side and we are here to help.
What is robbery?
New Jersey defines robbery as theft that involves violence, force, or threat of force. In most instances, robbery offenses are considered second-degree offenses. But, you will want to realize that charges can be upgraded to the first degree if the offender tries to kill another person, inflicts bodily injury, commits or threatens to commit a crime, or is armed with, uses, or threatens the use of a weapon.
Some of the penalties that can ensue as a result of a robbery charge can include the following:
- Robbery in the First Degree: 10 to 20 years in jail.
- Robbery in the Second Degree: 5 to 10 years in prison as well as a $150,000 fine.
Contact our Firm
If you are facing criminal charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.