If you were charged with an unsafe lane change offense, you may face penalties that are more severe than you expected. Reach out to our firm today to speak with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney. Our legal team is here to help.
What does an unsafe lane change mean in New Jersey?
All drivers must drive with caution and obey all rules of the road. One of the most common road rules is safe lane changes. This is one of the most common traffic violations that are seen in the state of New Jersey. According to New Jersey statute number 39:4-88:
- “…a vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practicable entirely with a single lane and shall not be moved from that lane until the driver has ascertained that the movement can be made with safety.”
Furthermore, when a highway has multiple lanes, a vehicle is not allowed to drive in the left lane unless they are passing another car or planning on making a left turn. To learn more about unsafe lane changes, reach out to our skilled New Jersey criminal defense attorneys today.
What are the consequences of an unsafe lane change?
Drivers who fail to operate their vehicles safely, such as engaging in unsafe lane changes, can face serious penalties. These consequences can include any of the following:
- 2 points on their driver’s license for each offense. If the driver collects 6 points or more, they can be obliged to pay a surcharge of $150 each year, with an extra $25 for each point over 6 points, for three years.
- A fine between $50 and $200 for each offense. This can be doubled if the offense is committed in a safe corridor, construction zone, or 65-mph zone.
- Potential imprisonment for up to 15 days
You will not want to underestimate how serious an unsafe lane change charge is. In most instances, points on your license can cause your insurance premiums to dramatically increase, particularly if you already had points prior to the offense. This indicates that you will be paying this offense for many years down the road. Also, if you spend time in jail, you will then have a criminal record that can follow you for years and even for life. There is nothing more difficult than a record stating you went to jail. If you already have a certain number of points on your license, a 2-point violation might be all it takes to result in a license suspension. This is every motorists’ worst nightmare, as a license suspension can stop you from being able to go to work, see friends, and more.
Contact Our Office Today
That being said, you should not fear–our firm is skilled in combatting unfair and unwarranted traffic violations on behalf of our clients, which is why we know we are the right firm for you. No matter the traffic offense, we will faithfully represent your rights, every step of the way to have your charges mitigated, or, in some cases, dropped altogether. If you are facing a New Jersey traffic violation, you must not hesitate to contact the Law Office of Carl Spector today. We are here to help.