People are awarded a driver’s license with the expectation that they will abide by the laws of the road and operate their vehicles safely. Individuals who violate the obligation to do so can be charged with a traffic violation as a result. Law enforcement works hard to ensure roads are kept safe to keep people out of harm’s way, which is why traffic violations can lead to certain penalties. The penalties an individual may face can vary depending on the violation they committed. Often times, it can include points on a driving record, fines, surcharges, and sometimes a license suspension. These penalties can significantly impact a person’s driving record, which is why it is important to contact an experienced New Jersey traffic violation attorney in these situations.
People who drive over the speed limit may be subject to penalties under the New Jersey point system. This puts a designated amount of points on a driving record depending on how fast the individual was going over the speed limit. The point system is as follows:
- 2 points for driving 1-14 miles over the speed limit
- 4 points for driving 15-30 miles over the speed limit
- 5 points for driving 30 miles over the speed limit
Cell Phone Violations
It is illegal for a driver to use an electronic device while operating a vehicle. This can not only put the driver in danger but also anyone else on the road with them. In the event of this violation, a ticket can be issued. Consequences of this can include a fine anywhere from $200 to $800 and three points on a driving record.
Reckless driving is when an individual willfully and wantonly disregards the rights and safety of others on the road in a way that endangers people or property. Actions that are considered reckless driving can include excessive speeding, improper lane changes, driving under the influence, and more. This can result in fines and even a license suspension in certain cases.
Driving Without a License
There are many people who do not have a driver’s license or their license was taken away after violating traffic laws. If they choose to drive without a license anyway, this is a separate traffic violation. Depending on the offense, these individuals can be charged with a fine between $500 $1000 as well as possible jail time.
Contact our Firm
If you are charged with upgraded domestic violence charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense that understands how to deal with these serious situations. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey domestic violence lawyer that will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.