Unsafe lane changes can result in serious consequences. If you were charged with one in New Jersey, reach out to our skilled Bergen County traffic violations attorney.
What is an unsafe lane change in New Jersey?
Keep in mind that in the state of New Jersey, drivers must operate their vehicles with caution and obey all rules of the road. One of the most standard road rules is safe lane changes. And yet, this is also one of the most common traffic violations that are seen in the state of New Jersey. According to New Jersey statute number 39:4-88:
“…a vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practicable entirely with a single lane and shall not be moved from that lane until the driver has ascertained that the movement can be made with safety.”
Also, when a highway has numerous lanes, a vehicle is not permitted to drive in the left lane unless they are passing another car or planning on making a left turn. If you have additional questions or concerns about unsafe lane changes, it is in your best interest to contact our attorneys today.
What penalties can I expect to face after an unsafe lane change?
Drivers who do not operate their vehicles safely, like making unsafe lane changes, can face severe penalties. These consequences can include any of the following:
- 2 points on their driver’s license for each offense. If the driver collects 6 points or more, they can be obliged to pay a surcharge of $150 each year, with an extra $25 for each point over 6 points, for three years.
- A fine between $50 and $200 for each offense. This can be doubled if the offense is committed in a safe corridor, construction zone, or 65-mph zone.
- Potential imprisonment for up to 15 days
It is important that you do not underestimate the magnitude of an unsafe lane change charge. In most cases, points on your license can cause your insurance premiums to dramatically increase, especially if you already had points prior to the offense. This implies that you will be paying this offense for many years down the road. Additionally, if you spend time in jail, you will then have a criminal record that can follow you for years and even for life. There is nothing more challenging than a record stating you went to jail. If you already have a specific number of points on your license, a 2-point violation might be all it takes to result in a license suspension. This can be detrimental, as a license suspension can prevent you from being able to go to work, see friends, and more.
Contact our Firm
If you are facing criminal charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.