In New Jersey, if you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% you will be charged with driving while under the influence (DUI). The state of New Jersey carries harsh penalties for this type of offense. Being charged with DUI can be an overwhelming experience. Depending on whether this is your first conviction or what your BAC level was, the penalties you face will vary in severity. Those charged with DUI often expect to face penalties such as hefty fines, installation of an ignition interlock device, license suspension, and even jail time. However, those charged with DUI do not expect how expensive DUIs can turn out to be after all is said and done. If you have been charged with DUI, please don’t hesitate to contact one of our skilled and adept Bergen County DUI Attorneys who can defend your rights and interests. Continue following along to learn how much a DUI could end up costing you.
How much does a DUI cost in New Jersey?
If you are charged with DUI, you will be faced with certain financial obligations. As mentioned above, after everything is said and done, a DUI conviction can cost you thousands of dollars. First-offense DUI convictions can result in fines ranging from $250 up to $500. Second-offense DUI convictions can range in fines from $500 to $1,000. Third or subsequent convictions can cost $1,000 or more. In addition to fines, you will be subject to various surcharges. You will also face program fees as you have to participate in a program for alcohol education, the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC), which costs $230 per day. Additionally, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle which can range from $50 to $200. Then you will be subject to paying a monthly rental fee of up to $100 a month. You could wind up paying $1,000 each year you have to drive with an ignition interlock device. Furthermore, having a DUI on your driving record will result in a significant increase in your auto insurance premiums.
Should I speak with an attorney?
Regardless of whether this is your first DUI conviction, DUIs are extremely costly. If you are charged with DUI in New Jersey, you will be subject to an array of fines, surcharges, installation of an ignition interlock device, towing costs, program fees, court fees, and attorney fees. Essentially, you could easily be looking at thousands of dollars in legal fees. To minimize the costs of a DUI, it is imperative to retain the legal services of a qualified Bergen County DUI attorney. Our firm can offer you individualized legal counseling to help you reach a more lenient sentence to help you minimize the costs associated with this type of offense.
In the unfortunate event that you are charged with DUI, speak with one of our dedicated and trusted attorneys. When everything is said and done, DUIs can cost a significant amount of money. To avoid harsh penalties and significant legal fees, contact us today. Allow our firm to represent your interests today.