How Do I Get a Gun Permit in New Jersey?

How Do I Get a Gun Permit in New Jersey?

In order to own a firearm in New Jersey, residents are required to go through the right process to do so. This is because the gun laws within the state are strict and people need a permit in order to purchase and own a gun. It is important that these laws are followed, otherwise, a person can be charged with a crime if they are in unlawful possession of a weapon. If you received these charges it is important to retain the services of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney for assistance.

Applying for a Permit

There are two different types of gun permits that a person can apply for in New Jersey. This can include the following:

  • Handgun Purchase Permit: Known as HPP, this is to apply for the purchase of handguns.
  • Firearm Purchaser Identification Card: Known as FPID, this permit is needed to purchase a rifle, long gun, or shotgun.

What Do I Need for My Application?

Residents in New Jersey who are filling out an application for a gun permit must include certain documentation so that it may be complete. This includes the following documents:

  • A passport
  • A driver’s license
  • 2 references
  • An executed Consent for Mental Health Records Search

Along with this information, the police will conduct a full and thorough background check with the FBI. This consists of a search of the applicant’s mental health records, an investigation by the local police, and fingerprinting.

License to Carry

People in the state of New Jersey are able to carry the firearm they are in legal possession of. However, it requires a separate license. Applicants for open carry must provide a justifiable reason as to why they want to carry the firearm. This is usually hard to do unless it is required for a job or the individual has had physical threats made against them.

Permit Appeals

The vetting process for permits is strict. That is why some applications are denied. When this happens, it is important to know that applicants can appeal this decision within 30 days. However, appeals can also be difficult, which is why it is important to have an experienced attorney for help.

Contact our Firm

If you are charged with upgraded domestic violence charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense that understands how to deal with these serious situations. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey domestic violence lawyer that will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  • Read this blog and contact an experienced criminal defense attorney for more information regarding gun laws in New Jersey. 
  • Read this blog and contact an experienced criminal defense attorney for more information regarding DWI charges in New Jersey. 
  • Read this blog and contact an experienced criminal defense attorney for more information regarding domestic violence charges in New Jersey.