Does Texting While Driving Affect Insurance Rates in New Jersey?

Distractions are everywhere, from loud conversations in the back seat to striking billboards to incessant phone notifications. Unfortunately, these distractions pose a safety risk for drivers. As such, distracted driving, such as texting while driving, is a crime in New Jersey. If you are issued a trick for texting while driving, it’s possible your insurance rate could increase. Texting while driving can have significant consequences. The best course of action is to contact a seasoned Bergen County Cell Phone Violations Attorney who can help you develop a defense to have your ticket dropped. Please continue reading to learn if texting and driving are factored into insurance rates in New Jersey. 

What Are the Penalties for Cell Phone Violations in New Jersey?

Unfortunately, everyone is guilty of engaging in the unsafe driving practice of checking their cell phone while behind the wheel, even if it’s just for a split second. However, as mentioned above, this high-risk behavior is illegal. If you have received a cell phone violation in New Jersey, you will face an array of harsh penalties. The following outlines some of the consequences of violating cell phone laws:

  • First offense: Fine between $200 and $400
  • Second offense: Fine between $400 and $600
  • Third or subsequent offense (within ten years): Fine between $600 and $800, 3 demerit points on your driving record, and a possible license suspension of 90 days

As you can see, texting while driving can result in fines of up to $800, license suspension, and demerit points on your driving record. As such, it’s crucial to enlist the help of a skilled Bergen County Cell Phone Violations Attorney who can effectively represent your interests to avoid significant penalties.

Will a Texting and Driving Ticket Impact My Insurance Rates?

Using a cell phone without hands-free technology is a serious crime. Thousands of people are killed or injured due to distracted drivers each year. If you text while driving, insurance companies will consider you a liability. A cell phone violation can impact your insurance rates. When points are added to your driving record, insurance premiums could be raised, or your policy may even be canceled. This is because you will be deemed a high-risk driver. When you are deemed a high-risk driver, it means that there is a higher likelihood of you being involved in an accident. Engaging in distracted driving practices dramatically increases your chances of having an accident in the future. As such, this will cost the insurance company that insures you money. Therefore, they may factor a texting while driving ticket into your insurance rates.

Whether this is your first, second, or subsequent cell phone violation, our legal team understands the significance of the consequences of such an offense. Please don’t hesitate to contact The Law Office of Carl Spector today to discuss your situation.