Can I Lose My Car After a DUI in New Jersey? | What to Know

New Jersey takes DUI charges seriously. To learn more about whether or not your car will be taken away, continue reading and reach out to our skilled Bergen County DUI attorneys.

Can my car get taken away in New Jersey after a DUI?

If you have been charged for driving while intoxicated or for refusing to provide a breath test, the police must impound the vehicle you were operating. Once the 12-hour mandatory impoundment period is over, you can reclaim your car or send someone to reclaim it for you.

To learn more about your options and how our firm can help, give us a call today. Our legal team is on your side.

What are the penalties for a DUI in New Jersey?

If you were caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or above, then you are in violation of New Jersey law. For this kind of driving under the influence charge, it does not matter if you can drive safely. If your blood alcohol content exceeds the legal limit, this alone will establish your criminal fault. You can expect to face the following consequences if a court finds you guilty of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in New Jersey:

First offense:

  • Fines and fees of approximately $650 to $1,000
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Up to 48 hours of driver instruction at the Intoxicated
  • Driver Resource Center
  • $1,000 per year surcharges for 3 years
  • Suspension of driver’s license for 3 to 12 months

Second offense:

  • Up to $1,500 in fines and fees
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • 30 days of community service
  • 48 hours of driver instruction at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $1,000 per year surcharges for 3 years
  • Suspension of driver’s license for 2 years
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device

Third offense:

  • Minimum fine of $1,000
  • Mandatory imprisonment in the county jail of not less
  • than 180 days
  • 90 days of community service
  • 48 hours of driver instruction at the Intoxicated Driver
  • Resource Center
  • $4,500 in automobile insurance surcharges over a 3 year period
  • Suspension of driver’s license for 10 years
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device

If you were charged with a DUI, you will need to reach out to our firm today to speak with an experienced Bergen County criminal defense attorney.

Contact our Firm

If you are facing criminal charges in New Jersey, you need strong legal defense. Contact the Law Office of Carl Spector for dedicated representation. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he offers a unique perspective on how both sides think, and how to best approach each aspect of the case. When your future is on the line, don’t settle for less than the best possible legal representation. Contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who will aggressively fight for you. Call today for a free confidential consultation. Let our experience work for you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts