In New Jersey, one of the most serious driving infractions is driving while under the influence (DUI). Being convicted of DUI is an extremely serious offense that carries harsh penalties such as fines, installation of an ignition interlock device, community service, participation in an alcohol education program, jail time, and license suspension. Without a driver’s license, you cannot drive yourself to and from critical places such as school, work, or running errands. In the unfortunate event that you have been charged with DUI, it is in your best interest to retain one of our talented Bergen County DUI Attorneys who can help you protect your driving privileges.
Is it possible to get your driver’s license back after a DUI in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, if you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater you will be charged with DUI. As mentioned above, one of the many penalties you will face if convicted of this offense is having your license suspended or revoked. If this is your first DUI offense, you will face a mandatory 3-month license suspension. However, you could face a longer suspension depending on your BAC level. For a second DUI offense, your license could be suspended for up to two years. A third DUI offense or subsequent offense will result in a 10-year license suspension.
With these impending consequences, you may wonder whether you can have your driving privileges reinstated after the term of your license suspension period is over. Fortunately, those convicted of DUI may reinstate their standard driver’s license once their license suspension is over. However, you must go to the motor vehicle department in person and apply to have your license reinstated. You will have to pay a $100 reinstatement fee.
It is imperative to note that you will not automatically receive your license back. Rather, you will have to complete your reinstatement application, pay an array of fees, and get your new standard license from the Motor Vehicle Commission. Until you have completed these steps, your license will technically remain suspended. Therefore, you cannot operate a vehicle until you receive your new standard driver’s license from the Motor Vehicle Commission. If you operate a vehicle while your license is still technically suspended, you will face additional penalties and risk losing your driving privileges for a longer period.
If you have been charged with DUI in New Jersey, please contact one of our determined attorneys at The Law Office of Carl Spector. With years of experience, you can trust our firm to protect your driving privileges. Allow our firm to defend your rights and interests today.